What is Sodium Lactate?

Sodium Lactate is the sodium salt of lactic acid produced by fermentation of a sugar source, such as corn or beets, and then neutralizing the resulting lactic acid[4] to create a compound having the formula NaC3H5O3. As a food additive, sodium lactate has the E number E325 and naturally is a liquid product, but also is available in powder form. As early as 1836, sodium lactate was recognized as a salt of a weak acid rather than being a base, and it was then known that the lactate had to be metabolized in the liver before the sodium could have any titrating activity.
Usage
Sodium Lactate has a mild saline taste. It may be used in shampoo products and other similar items such as liquid soaps as it is an effective moisturiser.
Sodium lactate commonly is used to treat arrhythmias caused by overdosing of class I antiarrythmics, as well as pressor sympathomimetics which can cause hypotension.
Sodium Lactate need not be restricted by someone avoiding milk or those with a milk allergy. In general, lactates such as sodium, calcium, and potassium lactate are salts derived from the neutralization of lactic acid and most commercially used lactic acids are fermented from dairy-free products such as cornstarch, potatoes, or molasses. Sugar or tapioca additionally may be used. However some lactic acid is fermented from dairy products such as whey and lactose. Whey is made of up 6.5 % solids of which 4.8 % is solid lactose.Waste whey typically is used to produce lactic acid when the whey itself is produced as waste during the manufacture of certain dairy products. As a result, such dairy-type lactic acid generally goes back into dairy products, such as ice cream and cream cheese, rather than into non-dairy products. Moreover, although the lactic-acid starter culture to ferment corn or beets may contain milk, sodium lactate does not contain milk protein and need not be restricted by someone avoiding milk or those with a milk allergy.